People and a question for street photographers

I walked past these girls one day, they were entertaining the children on the street with a small acrobatic act for free. I took some pictures of them, and later went to great lengths to find out their names to ask permission to use the photos. They granted me permission and in return I sent them the pictures and gave them my permission for them to use them.

ElviraHögt uppeclown

I have a lot of photos of people, some gave me permission to photograph them, but I didn´t ask if I could post them online. Some don´t know that I have taken pictures of them at all.

I don´t really know how to deal with this, I wouldn´t have photographed them if I didn’t´t find them interesting in some way, but I don´t want to offend anyone.

How do street photographers deal with this issue?

4 thoughts on “People and a question for street photographers

  1. We frequently have this discussion in photography seminars, and last weekend it came up in presentations by world-famous photographers who generally state that it is not necessary to even ask permission of anyone who is out in public….though it is nice to if you think you might publicly share the image. The only caution they state is using an image for profit in which case a signed release is necessary (if at all possible). I can only quote others here, and other countries might have different interpretations.

    Like

    • Thank you for your help! 🙂
      It seems that the answer isn´t clear. I suppose it´s a question of personal ethics or something, but I´m sure that there are both people who would be flattered, and those who would be offended. I don´t like rules, but sometimes they could come in handy. 🙂

      Like

      • I have the most trouble with shooting children…who are the most lovely subjects to shoot. I try to carry my photography card so parents can get in touch with me if they want. It’s easier than trying to get written permission, but, like you, I’m just interested in posting the photos, not profiting from them.

        Like

        • A photography card is a good idea, it´s just that I don´t really consider myself a photographer, just a hobby-picture-taking-person.
          Maybe I should make some kind of contact card anyway, that could help. Thank you. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

